Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Books On Tap

January 25 @ 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Books On Tap meets at various restaurants in the area to discuss fiction and non-fiction books selected by the group. Copies of each month’s selection are available to borrow at our 3rd floor desk. Join our discussions on the fourth Thursday each month! Email hessr@cclsys.org for information.

This month, we’ll meet at Luna Azteca, 1790 Goucher Street, Johnstown to discuss The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson.


Upcoming Discussions:
February 22: In the Form of a Question by Amy Schneider

******

More than six million copies sold worldwide! A larger-than-life old man with a fondness for vodka goes on an unexpected adventure in this whimsical novel — perfect for fans of Forrest Gump and A Man Called Ove.

A reluctant centenarian much like Forrest Gump (if Gump were an explosives expert) decides it’s not too late to start over . . .

After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he’s still in good health, and in one day, he turns 100. A big celebration is in the works, but Allan really isn’t interested (and he’d like a bit more control over his vodka consumption). So he decides to escape. He climbs out the window in his slippers and embarks on a hilarious and entirely unexpected journey, involving, among other surprises, a suitcase stuffed with cash, some unpleasant criminals, a friendly hot-dog stand operator, and an elephant (not to mention a death by elephant).

It would be the adventure of a lifetime for anyone else, but Allan has a larger-than-life backstory: Not only has he witnessed some of the most important events of the twentieth century, but he has actually played a key role in them. Starting out in munitions as a boy, he somehow finds himself involved in many of the key explosions of the twentieth century and travels the world, sharing meals and more with everyone from Stalin, Churchill, and Truman to Mao, Franco, and de Gaulle. Quirky and utterly unique, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared has charmed readers across the world.

Details

Date:
January 25
Time:
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Other

Age Range
Adults
Event Type
In-Person

Venue

Luna Azteca
1790 Goucher St
Johnstown, PA 15905 United States
+ Google Map
Several libraries in the Cambria County Library System are closed in observance of the Juneteenth Holiday. Click here for additional information.