Cambria County Library Use
Getting a Library Card
Library cards are free to any resident of Cambria County, and can be used at any of the 14 Cambria County System member libraries.
To apply, users (or a parent/guardian) must complete an application and show a current government issued ID that includes the user’s current name, photograph, and address.
PA Residents who do not live in Cambria County may still obtain a Cambria County Library card. Residents who have a current library card from their home library with an ACCESS PA sticker may present their card and valid photo ID at any Cambria County System Library to obtain a Cambria County Library Card.
PA Residents who do not have a home library may pay a non-resident fee to obtain a Cambria County Library System card. Check with your local library for pricing. Residents from unserved areas of Indiana County may obtain a card to access materials at the Cambria County Library, located in Johnstown, at no cost. This arrangement is possible because Indiana County is part of the Johnstown District.
Materials may be borrowed from and returned to any Cambria County Library System member library.
Books from any Cambria County Library System member library will circulate for 2 weeks. Items may be renewed online, at the library, or over the phone. Books may typically be renewed twice. However, if the item is on hold for another patron, it will not be renewable.
Some items are available for different borrowing periods and may include a rental cost. At Cambria County Library, these items include:
At times, the library will purchase extra copies of high-demand books that can be reserved as rental copies. These items circulate for 2 weeks at a cost of $1 plus tax. Rental books cannot be renewed.
DVDs circulate for one week. Fiction movies cost $1 plus tax. Nonfiction DVDs and DVDs from the Children’s Department can be borrowed at no charge.
Ukuleles can be borrowed for two weeks and include the instrument, case, and how-to book.
Reading Competition Books:
Books for reading competitions can be checked out for 2 weeks but cannot be renewed.
Items with a standard two week loan period will result in a $0.25 charge per item, per day overdue. Patrons who owe more than $5 in fines will be prohibited from borrowing materials or using library computers until the fine is paid below $5.
DVDs which circulate for one week will result in a $1 charge per item, per day overdue.
Lost or Damaged Items
Items that are not returned to the library within 90 days will be charged for the cost of the item and a $5 processing fee. Patrons will also be charged replacement and processing fees for items that are returned in a damaged state. The Cambria County System member libraries may work with the local magistrate to recover the cost of lost or damaged items.
Learn more about our computers, printing services, Wifi Hotspots, and more by visiting our Technology Page.
HOURS OF OPERATION
Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tours & Group Visits
Printing, Copying, and Scanning
After Hours Book Drop
Ongoing Used Book Sale